Customer Reviews

Tripadvisor Reviews:

Lovely place to stay I really enjoyed my stay here. It is the perfect place for a gathering of friends and family as we were. Small and comfortable with everything you need. The lodge sits on high ground with wonderful views over the surrounding bush. The evenings were lovely sitting in the lapa around the blazing fire listening to the sounds of the bush. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Take a hat for game drives. The food was tasty and good without being pretentious. I really appreciated the extra mile they went to to help us see leopard.
Liz S
Liz S
2022-10-17
The perfect bush escape Makongo Hills is an ideal setting for a family getaway in an authentic setting. The staff were friendly and helpful and we appreciated the small touches-especially the basket of mozzie repellent! My daughter thoroughly enjoyed the game walks, where we enjoyed learning about the plant life, looking at spoors and seeing the giraffe up close. The food and accommodation were superb, and we will be back!
Nichola N
Nichola N
2022-09-28
What more can one ask for! Makongo Hills is a breath of fresh air. Beautiful reserve, awesome big 5 sighting, and amazing bird life. Lovely and comfortable lodge. Friendly staff. I was able to unwind and really enjoyed my stay. I will definitely be back to explore this spot again!!
Megan
Megan
2022-09-28
excellent weekend away We were greeted on arrival by all the staff and our ranger. We were made to feel so welcome. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Our game drives were superb. I am looking forward to a return trip.
denton889
denton889
2022-09-14
All the comforts without the frills! We were lucky enough to steal a few days for ourselves on holiday at Makongo Hills, Ven Africa. I must say, the staff were very hospitable and hugely accommodating offering spontaneous activities such as game drives, walks and sundowners on top the hills above the savanna bushveld. Meg, our guide showed us her delightful camera capture sighting offering a secret peek into mysterious world of the shy and nocturnal. On the last night we decided to camp in the tented safari camp near a secluded waterhole. The braai vleis was delicious, beds very comfortable and our every need was taken care of. This truly is a special place – all the comforts without the frills makes for a very worthwhile and reasonably priced getaway!!
Julia@Spekboom Tours
Julia@Spekboom Tours
2020-07-07
Back to the bush experience! A wonderful place to truly immerse yourself back into nature. A bushveld experience without the pretense and over-commercial touristy feel of many other lodges that we've been to. Places like this are becoming rarer and rarer to find these days. Highly recommended for any true nature lover!
jonathan i
jonathan i
2020-07-02
Seventh heaven and two Rolling Hills This hidden gem known as Makongo Hills in a unspoilt Biosphere of Bushveld with Amazing views in the Mkuze Valley. The Birding oppertunities are endless boasting over 350 Species. The Game is amazing and the walks very pristine. The Aloe Banzai forest is arguably the Biggest in the World- giant aloe trees reach for the Sky. The staff are friendly and the Boma facing the synonamous Makongo Hills are a unique Trademark
Grant F
Grant F
2019-04-22

Google Reviews:

Celumusa Promise
Celumusa Promise
2022-05-18
Londeka Ncane
Londeka Ncane
2022-05-15
Makongo hills is a game lodge in the Greater mkhuze valley it has Majestic views of lovely bush. The lodge is comfortable with en suite rooms and a cozy boma to sit around the fire
Grant Fowlds
Grant Fowlds
2022-03-16
A beautiful get away, staff so friendly and accommodating. Venue is clean and comfortable 👌
Sharon Hosking
Sharon Hosking
2022-01-26
Megs at Makongo Hills made our long weekend stay so personalised and special ! From her Oumas rusks with coffee on our early morning game drives to yummy homecooked meals around the fire in the boma in the evenings …..lazy long days taking in the african sun on the deck and star gazing at night . The rooms have thatched roofs and beds decadently comfortable! What was so amazing was we had the whole lodge to ourselves ….a family bonding space where memories are made !
Kate Cole-Bowen
Kate Cole-Bowen
2021-10-10
Last weekend we were treated to 4 gorgeous days in the bush at Makongo Hills, in the Ven Africa reserve. From the minute we arrived, to our good bye hugs, we were doted over & spoilt rotten by Megan. It started off with our own personalised welcome letter on our beds ( with a choccie too!) We had a real home from home experience, the food was delicious, Meg served us coffee & tea throughout the day and made sure we were comfortable & content at all times. Meg is not only skilled in hospitality, but she is also an accomplished game guide, driving us around the reserve and sharing her wealth of knowledge. I had the treat of staying in the beautiful “ zebra room” with a breathtaking view of the 2 Makongos! The kids enjoyed the deck & pool while the adults went for a leisurely stroll to the bird hide. What a lovely venue for some family down time, enough space for the whole family yet small enough to have the privacy of having the lodge to ourselves. Thank you Megs & your team for the treat! We will be back!
Merewyn de Heer - Rossouw
Merewyn de Heer - Rossouw
2021-10-01
Nice place
Ntshebe Weldings
Ntshebe Weldings
2021-06-17
Last week, 12 &13 May, was our 2nd visit to this lodge. Fabulous stay, breathtaking views. Peace and Tranquility. Food, service and drives are superb. Megan is the perfect guide and Host.It was really great to see the progress made in the last 6 months. Alice and Kholiwe,the two ladies, chef and Helper, are an asset to the Lodge. Do make effort to visit this up and coming Game Reserve
Rina Wallis
Rina Wallis
2021-05-16
E X C E P T I O N A L
Chad Cochrane
Chad Cochrane
2021-04-14
Piece of heaven on earth! Excellent service from Megan and her team! Love every minute of our holiday!
Ilze Jansen van Vuuren
Ilze Jansen van Vuuren
2021-01-14

Facebook Reviews:

recommends
Makongo Hills is a private game reserve 57kms from Pongola. Stunning rooms, an excellent host, game / bird guide, 4x4 driver in Megan. She also relates interesting anecdotes on local history, the conservation management of the reserve etc Despite inclement weather we managed to record 80 birds on a few game drives. A very reasonably priced lodge too which is a bonus if you’re South African.
Penny De Vries
Penny De Vries
2021-02-25
recommends
Makonho Hills is beautiful and scenic. Staff were friendly and spoiled us from start to finish. Accommodation,food and company around the fire was excellent. We returned home feeling relaxed and fully rested. Thank you Grant and Megan! :-)
Ina de Jager
Ina de Jager
2020-08-10
recommends
A magnificent few days spend in the remote Northern KZN Bushveld. Such chilled vibes, friendly staff and fantastic scenery. If your area serious birder you will be twitching away for hours with a birding list of almost 300 birds including the elusive Eastern Nicator and Pink-Throated Twinspot. Being a plains game reserve for now it was wonderful to have the freedom to hike, run and cycle this 6000 hectare reserve. I’m not usually one for long game drives cooped up in a car so this was wonderful combination of untouched wilderness and fun outdoor activities.
Julia Colvin
Julia Colvin
2020-07-07
recommends
The most pristine and diverse environment that still remains in Zululand.
Juan Sebastian Maldonado Blaubach
Juan Sebastian Maldonado Blaubach
2020-05-19
recommends
Amazing Lodge in the rolling Mkhuze hills with game drives and walks in breathtaking scenery
Grant Fowlds
Grant Fowlds
2019-11-10
recommends
It’s fabulous!!! The best, most authentic, fun and awesome experience in the South African bush. Absolutely love it.
Veronica Maldonado Degwitz
Veronica Maldonado Degwitz
2019-11-07

Testimonials:

  • Hi Tim! Thank you and staff for an awesome weekend! – very much appreciated.

    It was great to see the improvements that have been made. The staff went the extra mile to ensure that we were well catered for, and the game viewing was the best experience possible.

    Kind regards,

    Chris

    Chris and family, Switzerland
  • Good afternoon guys,

    I would like to express my gratitude to the team. You were so welcoming and friendly, I wished I could stay longer with you guys!

    I even saw a cheetah for the first time in my life. 

    Till next time guys,

    Kind regards,

    Siboniso

    Siboniso, KZN
  • I have absolutely loved the Makongo Experience! Such friendly people. Can’t do enough for you.

    Marc, Durban
  • We were made to feel so special. This has been an awesome weekend. The staff here went above and beyond and we have had a marvellous stay. Thank you.

    July, 2022

    Michael, SA
  • Very pleasant and helpful staff. Thank you so much

    October, 2022

    Frans, The Netherlands
  • We loved our stay – super stunning view and staff with incredible knowledge. Only a star bed and boma in the bush will increase the experience. We will spread the word – very exciting!! Thank you for the gluten free food!!

    October, 2022

    Paul & Zoe, KZN
  • Extra+ service. Reception with fresh warm towels when coming back from the drives and smiling, hospitable staff. Feeling part of the family. 

    October 2022

    Laura, Belgium
  • Thanks so much for the nice stay, game drives and amazing food. We felt so welcome again. We love it so much here and it is great to see the place changed already so much in these years. If I could, I would build my own rondavel here. That’s how much I like it here. Siyabonga

    October 2022

    Marloes & Mark, The Netherlands
  • I would recommend Makongo Hills to everybody without hesitation. As a real wildlife experience, its hard to beat. 

    November, 2022

    Paul & Sharon, KZN
  • Thank you for a wonderful stay at Makongo Hills. Memories made for ever!! The best ever!

    November 2022

    Vince & Annalize
  • Thank you! We had a lovely stay.

    November 2022

    Ryan & Lisa, KZN
  • Some extra hooks or place to put things in the bathroom would be nice. We had a lovely stay in such beautiful surroundings.

    November 2022

     

    Thank you for your feedback and we will certainly look at improving on shelf space in the bathroom. We will make sure we are ready for you and look forward to your next visit        Makongo Hills Team

    Gill & Mary, KZN
  • We had a wonderful stay. Thank you for the special cake and well wishes

    November 2022

    Grace & Eric, KZN